Volunteer Experience

One of the requirements for the “Introduction for Nonprofit Organizations” course that I am currently taking is that we all have to perform at least two hours of volunteer service for a nonprofit organization and write a blog post about our time of service. In his book Nonprofit Management: Principles and Practice, Michael J. Worth says that some people consider this type of “mandatory voluntarism” an oxymoron, in other words, if a person is being pressured or forced to perform a service, say in order to receive a grade, then it is not “volunteering” at all. (Worth, 2009, p. 198) However, I would disagree. Sometimes this type of required voluntarism may, like in my own case, simply be an opportunity to “kill two birds with one stone” as the old saying goes.

Although I am primarily a stay-at-home mom, I am also by profession a birth doula and a Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator, and I am very passionate in my desire to ensure that mothers know how to make safe and healthy choices for themselves and their babies, before, during, and after birth. One of the ways I have found to increase awareness of these choices for women is by working with the Nashville Birth Network, which is a local chapter of the national nonprofit organization Birth Network National. Both of these organizations seek to increase awareness of safe, healthy choices by advocating Mother-Friendly care as defined by the Mother-Friendly Childbirth Initiative. Nashville Birth Network (NBN) also participates in local baby fairs and conferences and holds monthly informational meetings with speakers discussing various topics of interest to expectant and new parents. I have been volunteering with NBN in various capacities and at various events for the past 2-3 years. I chose to use another NBN event as my class volunteer requirement, as well. So, even though I am expected to do this for a grade, it is something I have chosen to do because I care about the organization and the cause, whether I get the grade or not.  In her Powerpoint presentation for this class, Dr. Kathy Maxwell lists a number of reasons why a person might volunteer, including mission meets personal values, desire to give back to community, improve the lives of others, advance a cause, meet personal needs and desires, and because they were asked. (Maxwell, 2010, p. 13)  These are just a few, but they do well in describing my reasons for volunteering for NBN.

Two weeks ago, October 15-17, the Midwives Alliance of North American (MANA) was holding its annual conference in the Nashville area, and NBN had reserved a booth in the exhibit hall for the weekend. Set-up for the exhibit hall would begin on Thursday, the 15th, then the booth would need to be manned at various times throughout the day on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Megan Morton, the NBN Chapter Leader, had already sent out a call for volunteers. Since my children would be in school on Friday, and I had already volunteered to help with some of the preliminary organizational set-up work for MANA and the conference itself on Thursday, I figured my best time to be at the NBN booth would be Friday morning.

I arrived Friday morning at approximately 8:30 to make sure everything was set up and the booth/table was ready for the exhibit hall to be open from 9:00 a.m. – Noon. We had three other people scheduled to be there; however, one would only be with us for about an hour and the other two were very new to the group, so I was given the role of “manager” for this shift. Our goals were threefold, first, since we knew that having the Vanderbilt Nurse Midwifery program locally in Nashville meant there might be a higher number of local attendees than normal at a national conference, we wanted to promote the benefits of membership in NBN. Secondly, we also knew that there would be many out-of-town attendees who would not be interested in membership, so we distributed brochures detailing aspects of the Mother-Friendly Childbirth Initiative and told them about Birth Network National. Thirdly, we wished to raise much-needed funds to support our local programs, so we had three different bumper stickers and a logo t-shirt that we were selling.

I am a naturally friendly, out-going person, so I found this to be a fun and productive morning. We actually ended up being there until 1:00 p.m. instead of Noon, because the organizers simply couldn’t seem to get the attendees to leave the exhibit hall! I was able to take an application and fee for one new membership and gave out two other applications. We distributed lots of brochures, and we sold 60-65 bumper stickers and several t-shirts. I was also able to talk with a number of midwives, aspiring midwives, doulas, childbirth educators, and other birth professionals about the Birth Network, what we do, our goals for our community, and how they can do the same in their areas.

When the organizers finally started threatening to lock the doors with people still inside the room, we finally put our things away, covered our table, and put the money in the lock box for the next shift.  After talking with the NBN Chapter Leader at the end of the weekend, it turns out that we did end up receiving two new member applications and made over $300 on the items we were selling, so it was a successful event for the organization and the additional funds will enable NBN to continue with some of the other educational/informational events we have planned for the future.

As I said before, although this was a volunteer project that I was required to do for a grade in my class, it is also a volunteer project that I would have participated in anyway, with an organization to which I have already made a commitment. So, rather than being a coerced volunteer, perhaps I am somewhere in between what Worth calls a “spot volunteer, whose participation is casual and episodic” and a “regular volunteer” whose “assignments may have the formality of regular paying jobs.” (Worth, 2009, p. 198) No, I don’t do this with any true regularity, but my commitment to the Nashville Birth Network, and birthing women and their babies, is definitely more than casual! And, if you are interested in how women can have safer, better births and healthier babies, check out the Nashville Birth Network!

References

Maxwell, K.  (2010) Introduction to Nonprofit Organizations — Week 7:  Staff & Volunteers.  [Powerpoint Slides].  Retrieved from https://elearn.rodp.org/d2l/orgTools/ouHome/ouHome.asp?ou=1733127.

Worth, M. J. (2009). Nonprofit Management: Principles and Practice. Los Angeles:
Sage Publications, Inc.

About goodbirths

I am a Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator and DONA Certified Birth Doula, as well as a student and mom of three, so you could be reading anything here from birth-related info (probably a good bit) to school-related projects, and, of course, stuff about the kiddos! I hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Volunteer Experience

  1. Tim Vaden says:

    Yes, I agree it is important when volunteering that the activities are something that one would enjoy or even have particular skills in a particular field. Needless to say, your volunteer experience was quite different as mine took place in a warehouse. It is quite apparent that you are quite qualified for any activities that the Nashville Birth Network might have. Since you are knowledgeable in the particular field it seems that you were able to “enter” such a volunteer activity as an exhibit at a convention quite relaxed as well as enjoyable. As for myself I would have been kind of lost as in Gone With the Wind – “I don’t know nothin bout birthin no babies”! Sure, I was present during the births of my two children, it is just that I do not think that I would be knowledgeable enough to do your particular activity. I am quite sure that you were and are an asset to the Nashville Birth Network as your volunteering was and is a meaningful experience for a well deserving organization.

    • goodbirths says:

      Hey, thanks for the reply Tim! I did enjoy being able to do my volunteer service for an organization with which I was already familiar and had a relationship and commitment. And it was nice to be able to discuss a topic about which I am both knowledgeable and passionate. However, it sounds like you enjoyed your volunteer service, as well. It’s nice to be seen as a person who can be quickly put into a role of responsibility like you were! And it sounds like they were very appreciative – I wonder if they send out that many “thank you’s” to everyone who volunteers?

  2. gghildreth says:

    Hey Tracy – fantastic blog, I learned something today! Although even being in the delivery room would wreck my nerves – I certainly have a ton of respect for you and what you do.

    • goodbirths says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you learned a little something from my blog — and, although I don’t know your relationship status or age and how that might apply, but maybe if one day you happen to find yourself getting ready for a trip to a delivery room, you’ll know where to find more information and support!

  3. Jennifer K. says:

    This is something I could never do (give birth nor be a birth doula and a Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator). Just the thought of watching a birth/being in a delivery room makes me feel sick — it always has even as a child. I’m 25, single, no children and I’m certain my thoughts on this will never change. I definitely commend you for being so brave.

    • goodbirths says:

      Thanks for the compliment, Jennifer! Although, I have to say, that I’m sorry to hear you say you have such negative personal feelings about birth. In our society, we see primarily scary, frightening images of birth – women moaning, screaming, begging for drugs – it’s hard to imagine, but birth can be a very different experience from those scenes. Maybe, if you ever had an opportunity to see a peaceful, joy-filled birth, it might change your feelings a bit 🙂

  4. Very interesting! I know a great deal about this type of nonprofit as I used to be a pharmaceutical rep and had baby formula as one of my products along with Pedialyte so I would do seminars for midwives and other birthing agencies. This is great that there are people out there like you who have a interest in this type of activity, however, I don’t think many mothers would want me there through the coaching process! I feel for you women who push out a 8lb baby! Keep up the good Samaritan work!

Leave a Reply

